Make a Difference!

The Trillium Gift of Life Network (TGLN) Community Support program works with dedicated people like you, to organize, promote and drive organ and tissue donor registration initiatives throughout Ontario.

Our job is to provide you with the necessary tools and supports so that you can inspire your community to share the gift of life. We work with many advocacy groups including donor families, community volunteers, faith leaders, health care professionals, youth and non-governmental organizations, government, and supportive private sector companies.

But we can’t do it without your help.

Asking Too Much from Trillium Gift of Life Network on Vimeo.

TGLN Transplantation TV feature (Ronnie) from Trillium Gift of Life Network on Vimeo.

TGLN Transplantation TV feature (Versha) from Trillium Gift of Life Network on Vimeo.

Amanda for NOTDAW

BeADonor Month

BeADonor Month occurs every April across Canada. It can be a rewarding way to give back to your community. The best part about BeADonor Month is that everyone is welcome to participate. Ideas for events can range from planning an information display in your workplace, to organizing a donor registration drive, to hosting a community event like a block party! You can make it as small or as big as you like. What’s important is that your event is helping to raise the awareness of organ and tissue donation and transplantation.

Get involved!

Simple event ideas can range from information displays in your workplace, to organizing a donor registration drive, to hosting a community event like a block party! It can be as small or as big as you like. What’s important is that your event is helping to raise the awareness of this great national cause.

 

Calendar of Events

Planning a
community
event?

Due to the overwhelming interest from advocates across Ontario, TGLN has designated April as “BeADonor.ca Month”.

Here is your opportunity to join other communities across the province and help increase awareness for organ and tissue donation. Activities can range from on-campus awareness, workplace health and safety seminars, institutional health fairs, lay and professional association meetings, to community service club presentations. It just takes one person to get the momentum going and that one person could be you!

Here’s what you can do

Please download and complete the Community Event Support Materials & Speaker Request form. This form asks for the coordinator’s name, the date, time and location of your event, and the number of people you expect to attend. Complete this information early to receive requested materials and/or to book your speaker in time for your event. Once you have answered all of the questions, just click the ‘submit by email’ button at the bottom of the form and it will be sent to a TGLN community events’ coordinator. If your event is a public event, TGLN will post it on the Calendar of Events page of this site.

Make a Difference

There are many ways you can help to raise awareness about registering consent to donate organs and tissue.

Here are some ideas to explore:

  • Start your own campaign.
  • Schedule an information session at your church, synagogue, temple, or mosque.
  • Arrange for your workplace to display BeADonor.ca business cards and brochures.
  • Organize a local community event during Ontario’s BeADonor.ca month in April.
  • Contact the facilities department of a local shopping mall and arrange to set up an a registration booth.
  • Write an article for your workplace newsletter, or if you belong to a professional association submit an article to be published in the association's newsletter.

Icon Quote

Online Resources

 

Brochures

English
and French
Kidney Donation
and Transplant
Arabic
Translation
Chinese (Trad.)
Translation
Chinese (Simple)
Translation
Greek
Translation
Hindi
Translation
Italian
Translation
Polish
Translation
Portuguese
Translation
Punjabi
Translation
Russian
Translation
Spanish
Translation
Tagalog
Translation
Tamil
Translation
Urdu
Translation
Vietnamese
Translation

 

The importance of culture and religion

Culture and religion play a significant role in end-of-life experiences, including how people respond to illness, how grief is demonstrated, what rituals are important at death and which members of the family are present.

Most religious groups support organ donation and/or respect the individual's choice. Beliefs about tissue donation vary as some groups may consider tissue donation life enhancing, separating it from organ donation which saves lives.

If you have specific questions about your faith, speak to your religious leader. In the meantime, here are some widely held perspectives:

Icon Group

Workplace registration drive initiative.

Hosting a workplace organ and tissue registration drive is easy.

LEARN MORE

With the development of Beadonor.ca registering your consent only takes two minutes online. A workplace registration drive is a great way to encourage your colleagues to register as organ and tissue donors, and demonstrate your organization's good corporate governance. Best of all, it doesn't take away from company productivity.

Get started today by visiting beadonor's website and downloading the toolkit. It contains a menu of customizable documents, suggested event ideas and timing for a workplace registration drive to help make implementation turn-key. TGLN is here to help make your drive a success. 

Hide

Icon Group

Toolkit for Legal Professionals

Discussing organ and tissue donation during end of life planning (Will and Estate).

LEARN MORE

As a vital component of end of life planning, TGLN is working closely with legal professionals across Ontario to ensure that organ and tissue donation becomes a standard discussion in the Will and Estate Planning process. Legal professionals are uniquely aware of the importance of clarifying one’s final wishes, and how leaving these important decisions unknown can create confusion and added stress for loved ones during an already difficult time. Before an individual can become an organ and tissue donor, their family will always be consulted to make the final decision. When a person is a registered donor, families have clarity around their loved ones wishes, and consent to donation over 90% of the time. However, when a person is not registered, the rate of family consent drops to just 60% when an individuals final wishes are left unknown.

If you are a legal professional, and would like to ensure that your client’s wishes around organ and tissue donation are made clear in their end of life planning, please download our easy to use legal toolkit here. The toolkit provides information about the legal community’s role in informing their clients about organ and tissue donation. It also contains an example letter to clients regarding the issue, information on how to quickly and easily register as a donor, and a FAQ and myths section that provides clarification around common misconceptions about organ and tissue donation that often prevent people from registering. 

Hide

Icon Gift

Start your own campaign.

Another way you can encourage the registration of organ and tissue donation is by creating your own campaign.

LEARN MORE

Be the first in your local community, at your place of work, or encourage an association where you belong to participate. All you need to do is to create your own campaign on Beadonor.ca. Use your influence to encourage others to register their consent.

There are different ways you can participate. You can create a personal campaign, an organization campaign, or a workplace registration drive whereby you can encourage friends, family and colleagues to register their consent for organ and tissue donation. You can use a customized page that can be shared on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and email. Check out what others have done. You'll be amazed.

Hide

Icon Hat

Youth Programs.

One Life...Many Gifts is a curriculum resource to educate senior secondary school students about the vital importance of organ and tissue donation and transplantation. High Schools Outreach Initiative offers secondary school students the unique opportunity to hear from world class healthcare professionals about organ and tissue donation and transplantation.

LEARN MORE

It was developed by the Trillium Gift of Life Network, the London Health Sciences Centre's Multi-Organ Transplant Program, The Kidney Foundation of Canada and an anonymous donor.

The curriculum brings to life the drama, generosity and the life-saving promise of donation and transplantation. It is designed to be cross-curricular so that any teacher who is passionate about donation and transplantation can create an educational program for his or her students from science to geography. Visit One Life...Many Gifts for information regarding being a Pilot Program Teacher and "I'm New to One Life... Many Gifts".

The High Schools Outreach Initiative offers secondary school students the unique opportunity to hear from world class healthcare professionals about organ and tissue donation and transplantation. Developed by the University of Toronto Transplant Institute in partnership with Trillium Gift of Life Network (TGLN), this initiative sees transplant healthcare professionals from the three top tier transplant hospitals in Toronto: SickKids, University Health Network and St. Michael's Hospital partner with a TGLN representative and organ recipeint or donor family member to deliver an engaging presentation. Using real life transplant and donor stories, presentations made to high school students provide a holistic look at organ and tissue donation from registration to transplantation.

Presentations are informative and engaging and can be delivered at assemblies or to subject-specific classes. Students are encouraged to be inquisitive and are also provided with materials to share with their families.

Presentations are booked on a first come, first serve basis. 

Hide

 

To Top

Avoir un impact

Le programme de soutien communautaire du Réseau Trillium pour le don de vie (RTDV) collabore avec des personnes dévouées comme vous pour organiser, promouvoir et encourager les initiatives d’inscription de donneurs d’organes et de tissus dans l’ensemble de l’Ontario.

Notre mission consiste à vous fournir les outils et le soutien requis pour que vous soyez en mesure d’inspirer votre communauté à partager le don de vie. Nous travaillons avec de nombreux groupes, notamment les familles de donneurs, les bénévoles communautaires, les chefs spirituels, les professionnels de la santé, les organismes de jeunesse, les associations sans but lucratif, les organismes gouvernementaux et les entreprises privées intéressées à nous soutenir.

Toute fois, votre aide nous est essentielle.

Rencontrez Ryley from Trillium Gift of Life Network on Vimeo.

Rencontrez Andrea from Trillium Gift of Life Network on Vimeo.

Rencontrez Justin from Trillium Gift of Life Network on Vimeo.

Amanda pour SNSDOT

Le mois « Soyez un donneur »

Le mois « Soyez un donneur » se tient tous les ans, en avril, d’un bout à l’autre du Ontario. Elle peut vous fournir une occasion enrichissante de rendre service à votre communauté. Qui mieux est, tout le monde est encouragé à y participer. L’important, c’est que votre événement contribue à sensibiliser le public au don et à la transplantation d’organes et de tissus.

Participez!

Les événements vont de la tenue d’un simple kiosque d’information dans votre lieu de travail à l’organisation d’un événement communautaire, comme une fête de quartier, en passant par les campagnes d’inscription de donneurs. L’événement peut être aussi simple ou important que vous le désirez. La priorité est que votre événement doit contribuer à sensibiliser le public à cette cause nationale importante.

 

Événements

Planifiez-vous
un événement
communautaire?

Étant donné l’intérêt manifeste des bénévoles de tout l’Ontario, le RTDV a choisi avril comme « mois Soyezundonneur.ca ».

Voici l’occasion idéale pour vous d’unir vos efforts à ceux d’autres communautés de toute la province afin de sensibiliser davantage le public à l’importance du don d’organes et de tissus. Les activités peuvent être des plus diverses : campagnes de sensibilisation dans un établissement d’enseignement, colloques de santé et sécurité au travail, réunions d’associations professionnelles ou communautaires ou présentations à des clubs de services communautaires. Il suffit d’une personne pour démarrer le processus et vous pourriez être cette personne.

Voici ce que vous pouvez faire

Il vous suffit de remplir le formulaire de demande de documents d’accompagnement ou de présentation de la part d’un orateur du RTDV à l’occasion d’un événement communautaire (formulaire en anglais). Ce formulaire demande le nom du coordinateur, la date, l’heure et le lieu de votre événement, ainsi que le nombre prévu de participants. Envoyez ce formulaire en prévoyant assez de temps pour recevoir la documentation ou réserver l’orateur avant votre événement. Lorsque vous aurez répondu à toutes les questions, cliquez sur le bouton « Envoyer par courriel » qui figure sur le formulaire pour que celui-ci soit transmis au coordinateur des événements communautaires du RTDV. Si votre événement est ouvert au public, le RTDV l’affichera sur la page de ce site où se trouve notre calendrier.

Avoir un impact

En votre qualité de bénévole, vous aurez de nombreuses occasions de contribuer à la sensibilisation du public à l’importance de l’inscription du consentement au don d’organes et de tissus.

Vous pourriez explorer les idées suivantes:

  • Organiser un événement dans votre communauté pendant le mois du programme ontarien Soyezundonneur.ca, en avril.
  • Communiquer avec le service des installations du centre local d’achats afin qu’un kiosque d’inscription y soit tenu.
  • Rédiger un article pour le bulletin de votre employeur ou, si vous faites partie d’une association professionnelle, envoyer un article au bulletin d’information de cette association.

Impliquez-vous auprès de votre groupe local de défense des droits.

Amar Arts of Life - GTA

Balwinder Kaur

E: info@amararts.com
W: http://amararts.com/

National Capital Region Gift of Life Network

Bob Mcrae

E: mcraeb019@gmail.com
W: https://www.facebook.com/groups/760787807418793/

Amar Karma, Health & Wellness Awareness Network - GTA/Mississauga

Radhika Goyal

E: actions@amarkarma.org
W: http://www.amarkarma.org

Nipissing Gift of Life Association - North Bay

Mary Beaucage/Claire Stewart

E: NipissingGOLA@gmail.com

Brighton Northumberland Gift of Life Network

Kathleen McLaughlin

E: kmclaughlinyas@hotmail.com

Durham Region Organ and Tissue Donor Awareness

Hilda Finnigan/Jim Mitchell

E: ahfinnigan6157@hotmail.com
E: jammitchell@rogers.com

Ontario Transplant Advocates - Ottawa

Rita Richardson

W: http://www.transplantadvocateassociation.ca/

Grey Bruce Gift of Life Association

Catherine Hansler

E: chhansler@gmail.com

Peel Region Gift of Life Association

Josie St. Hilaire

E: sthilairejosie@gmail.com

Irish Heritage Club Sudbury, Organ Donor Awareness Committee

Frank Horan

E: camas_@persona.ca
W: http://www.irishheritageclubofsudbury.ca/

Sarnia Organ Donor Awareness Group

Sue Morrison-Weir

E: smorrison7@cogeco.ca
W: http://www.sarniaorgandonors.ca/

Life Donation Awareness Association- Burlington/ Hamilton

Jessica Gold

E: organdonationaware ness.hbo@gmail.com
W: http://www.lifedonationawareness.com/

Scarborough Gift of Life Association

Mohan Bissoondial/Helen Farinha

E: mohanbissoondial@hotmail.c om
E: helenfarinha@msn.com

Life Donation Awareness Association
- Kitchener, Cambridge, Waterloo & Guelph

Andrea Clegg

E: andrea@lifedonationawa reness.com
W: http://www.lifedonationawareness.com

Simcoe County Gift of Life Association

Sherrie Logan

E: logan.sherrie@gmail.com
W: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1953083111497585/

Life Donation Awareness Association - Niagara Region

Carol Morningstar

E: camstar4@hotmail.com
W: http://www.lifedonationawareness.com/

Transplant Advocate Association - Kingston

Joan Benoit

E: benoit.joan@gmail.com
W: http://www.transplantadvocateassociation.ca/

Life Donation Awareness Association - Oxford County

Joanna Mitchell

E: jmitchell7385@rogers.com
W: http://www.lifedonationawareness.com/

Wilmot Area Life Donation Awareness

Theresa Dietrich

E: theresa.dietrich@sunlife.c om
W: http://www.lifedonationawareness.com/contact- us/

London Transplant Gift of Life Association

Jane Tucker

W: https://www.facebook.com/groups/Londontransplantgifto flife/

Windsor-Essex Gift of Life Association

Niva Segatto

E: nivasegatto@gmail.com

Muskoka Gift of Life Association

Sandra Holdsworth

E: sholds@sympatico.ca
W: https://www.facebook.com/groups/318128868249604/

York Region Gift of Life Association

Arlene Lindsay

E: alindsay38@hotmail.com
W: https://www.facebook.com/YRGiftofLife/

Icon Quote

Ressources en ligne

Brochures

Anglais
et Français
Traduction
en arabe
Traduction
en chinoise (trad.)
Traduction
en chinoise (simpl.)
Traduction
en grecque
Traduction
en hindi
Traduction
en italienne
Traduction
en polonaise
Traduction
en portugaise
Traduction
en punjabi
Traduction
en russe
Traduction
en espagnole
Traduction
en tagalog
Traduction
en tamil
Traduction
en l'ourdu
Traduction
en vietnamienne

L’importance de la culture et de la religion

La culture et la religion jouent un rôle important dans les expériences de fin de vie; ces facteurs influent notamment sur la manière de réagir à la maladie et la façon d’exprimer la douleur, en plus de dicter les rites à suivre au moment du décès et les membres de la famille qui y participent.

La majorité des groupes religieux sont favorables au don d’organes ou respectent les choix individuels à cet égard. Les croyances entourant le don de tissus varient d’un groupe à l’autre; certains considèrent que le don de tissus améliore la qualité de vie et le distinguent du don d’organes, perçu comme un moyen de sauver des vies.

Voici quelques exemples de perspectives courantes:

Icon Group

Campagne d’inscription au travail.

ll est facile d’organiser une campagne d’inscription de donneurs d’organes et de tissus au travail.

PLUS

Grâce à Soyezundonneur.ca, inscrire son consentement au don en ligne prend à peine deux minutes. Une campagne d’inscription au travail est un excellent moyen d’encourager vos collègues à inscrire leur consentement au don d’organes et de tissus et de démontrer la bonne gouvernance d’entreprise de votre employeur. Mieux encore, cela ne nuit pas au rendement de votre entreprise.

Commencez dès aujourd’hui en consultant le site Web Sauvons 8 vies du RTDV et en y téléchargeant la trousse d’outils (seulement en anglais). Le RTDV est là pour vous aider à assurer la réussite de votre campagne. 

Icon Group

Trousse d’outils pour les professionnels du droit.

Discussion sur les dons d’organes et de tissus pendant la planification de fin de vie (testament et succession).

PLUS

Le Réseau Trillium pour le don de vie (RTDV) travaille en étroite collaboration avec des professionnels du droit de l’ensemble de l’Ontario pour faire en sorte que le don d’organes et de tissus fasse normalement partie de la discussion pendant l’étape cruciale de la planification du testament et de la succession en fin de vie. Les professionnels du droit sont particulièrement conscients de l’importance de clarifier les dernières volontés de leurs clients, et savent à quel point toute indécision à ce sujet peut causer de la confusion et du stress aux proches qui traversent déjà des moments difficiles. Avant qu’une personne puisse effectuer un don d’organe ou de tissu, les membres de sa famille sont toujours consultés pour la décision finale. Lorsque la personne est inscrite au programme de dons, ses proches sont mis au courant de ses volontés et consentent au don dans plus de 90 % des cas. Cependant, lorsque la personne n’est pas inscrite et n’a pas précisé ses dernières volontés, le taux de consentement des familles est d’à peine 60 %.

Si vous êtes professionnel ou professionnelle du droit et souhaitez clarifier les volontés d’un client au sujet des dons d’organes et de tissus pendant la planification de fin de vie, nous vous proposons une trousse conviviale d’outils juridiques que vous pouvez télécharger (seulement en anglais) ici. Cette trousse contient des renseignements sur le rôle que jouent les membres de la communauté juridique lorsqu’il s’agit d’informer les clients concernant les dons d’organes et de tissus. De plus, elle fournit un modèle de lettre pour les clients, des renseignements sur la façon de s’inscrire rapidement et facilement au programme de dons, et une section portant sur les idées fausses qui empêchent souvent les gens de s’inscrire aux dons d’organes et de tissus. 

Icon Gift

Vive Sauvons 8 vies!

Une autre façon d’encourager l’inscription de donneurs d’organes et de tissus consiste à créer votre propre mouvement Sauvons 8 vies

PLUS

Soyez le premier ou la première de votre collectivité, de votre lieu de travail ou d’une association dont vous êtes membre à y participer. Il suffit de créer votre propre campagne sur Soyezundonneur.ca par l’intermédiaire de Sauvons 8 vies. Exploitez votre influence pour encourager d’autres à inscrire leur consentement.

Vous pouvez participer de diverses manières. Vous pouvez créer une campagne personnalisée, une campagne organisationnelle ou une campagne d’inscription au travail de manière à encourager amis, parents et collègues à inscrire leur consentement au don d’organes et de tissus. Sauvons 8 vies utilise un modèle de page personnalisé que l’on peut partager par Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn et courriel. Voyez ce que d’autres ont fait. Cela vous impressionnera!

Icon Hat

Programmes pour les jeunes.

Une vie, plusieurs dons dons est une ressource pédagogique visant à sensibiliser et informer les élèves en voie de terminer leurs études secondaires quant à l’importance vitale du don et de la transplantation d’organes et de tissus. L’initiative d’intervention dans les écoles secondaires offre aux élèves du secondaire l’occasion unique d’entendre des spécialistes de la santé de renommée mondiale parler du don et de la transplantation d’organes et de tissus.

PLUS

Une vie, plusieurs dons est une ressource pédagogique visant à sensibiliser et informer les élèves en voie de terminer leurs études secondaires quant à l’importance vitale du don et de la transplantation d’organes et de tissus. Ce programme a été mis au point par le Réseau Trillium pour le don de vie, le programme de transplantation d’organes multiples du London Health Sciences Centre, la Fondation canadienne du rein et un bienfaiteur anonyme.

Le programme présente de manière vivante la tragédie, l’altruisme et la nécessité du don de vie et de la transplantation. N’importe quel enseignant qui croit passionnément au don et à la transplantation d’organes et de tissus peut créer un programme d’enseignement adapté à ses élèves et aux disciplines les plus diverses, des sciences à la géographie, car il a été conçu pour intégrer diverses matières. Vous pouvez consulter Une vie, plusieurs dons pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sous les rubriques Devenir un enseignant du programme pilote et Je viens de découvrir Une vie, plusieurs dons.

L’initiative d’intervention dans les écoles secondaires offre aux élèves du secondaire l’occasion unique d’entendre des spécialistes de la santé de renommée mondiale parler du don et de la transplantation d’organes et de tissus. Mise au point par l’institut de transplantologie de l’Université de Toronto en association avec le Réseau Trillium pour le don de vie (RTDV), cette initiative bénéficie de la collaboration des trois plus importants hôpitaux de Toronto : des spécialistes en transplantation du SickKids, du Réseau universitaire de santé et de l’Hôpital St. Michael’s font des exposés passionnants de concert avec un représentant du RTDV et un transplanté ou un parent de donneur. Grâce aux témoignages réels sur le don et la transplantation, les exposés donnent aux élèves du secondaire un aperçu holistique du don d’organes et de tissus, de l’inscription à la transplantation.

Les exposés sont instructifs et intéressants; ils peuvent être donnés lors d’une assemblée générale ou d’un cours sur un sujet particulier. Les élèves sont encouragés à faire preuve de curiosité; ils reçoivent également des documents qu’ils peuvent montrer à leur famille.

Les réservations de conférenciers se font selon l’ordre d’arrivée. 

 

To Top